2011 National Police Award for Traffic Safety and the Road Safety Lifetime Achievement Award

From Issue: 
Vol LV No. 3, July 2011

This year’s awards were presented at Canada’s National Pipeline/Convoy Conference in Toronto, Ontario on May 3, 2011.

The winner of the 2011 National Police Award for Traffic Safety was the RCMP “E” Division Traffic Services from Langley, British Columbia, for their submission of the Immediate Roadside Prohibition (IRP) Program. Their strategy involved a combination of training, coordination, and enforcement to reduce impaired driving fatalities.

Prior to the introduction of IRP, police in BC had limited legal tools to address the serious problem of impaired driving. These existing tools had limited success as they were either non-punitive or had no deterrent effect due to the delay of the penalty.

Since the program’s implementation in 2010, impaired fatalities are down approximately 30 per cent over the previous year and 40 per cent over the five-year average for the same period. There was only one impaired driving fatality in the entire Province in January 2011. These dramatic results are unprecedented in this jurisdiction. The program is expected to reduce impaired fatalities by 35 per cent by 2013. Early numbers suggest that this goal will likely be exceeded before the target date.

The recipient of the 2011 Transport Canada Director General’s Road Safety Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Staff Sergeant Rob Ruiters of the Regina, Saskatchewan RCMP. He is the national coordinator for the Pipeline/Convoy Program. This award recognizes his significant lifetime commitment and contributions toward promoting traffic safety on Canada’s roadways.

During his tenure as Pipeline/Convoy coordinator, he has trained more than 30,000 law enforcement officers across Canada, the US and Australia. He is the originator of the Canadian Program and continues to manage the program nationally, including the development of all training materials, lesson plans and, associated course-training standards.

The Canada Safety Council congratulates the winners, and thanks them for making Canada’s roads safer.