2008 National Police Award

The National Police Award for Traffic Safety was presented on August 24, 2008 at the annual conference of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) in Montréal, Québec. The award recognizes officers who go beyond the call of duty to keep road users safe. It is a joint initiative of the CACP, the Canada Safety Council and Transport Canada , and supports the goals of Canada ’s Road Safety Vision 2010.

This year’s recipient of the National Police Award for Traffic Safety went to Chief Inspector Réjean Toutant (centre) and to the Division de la sécurité routière et de la circulation du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal.

Dr. Kash Ram, Director General of Transport Canada Road Safety and Motor Vehicle Regulation presented Staff Sergeant Richard Lavigne of the Ottawa Police Service with this year’s Transport Canada Director General’s Road Safety Lifetime Achievement award for his prominent role in many initiatives, improvements and accomplishments in traffic safety.